Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Valletta Malta to Cosenza Italy

    June 20, 2022 in Italy ⋅ 🌙 20 °C

    My ferry sailed from Malta with just a few passengers at 9am and took three and a half hours to get to Agusta on the east coast of Sicily. I followed the coast to Messina in temperatures around 32c and took a second ferry of the day to Villa San Giovanni on the Italian mainland then headed inland towards Cosenza which is where I am now.
    It has a nice central walkway which is nice clean and busy. Maybe I'm spoilt by Malta but I found this place very run down and once off the main road it is full of graffiti and tired tenament buildings. The cathedral was ok in a plain sorry of way. My hotel is clean and the bike is in a private garage which is part of the hotel.
    Tomorrow's ride to Bari area in the East coast is easy.

    Having bought fuel in Malta for €1.10 per litre it came as a shock to pay 2.38 per litre in Italy
    Read more