Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Cosenza to Monopoli

    June 21, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    I posted the same info twice yesterday and can't delete it.
    Today I had a lazy start and walked around Cosenza and enjoyed it more than yesterday. If I had realised it was going to be so hot I would have set off earlier. I spent a lot of today's four and a half hours in 36c temperature. It even got 37c for a while. It gets really hot when you need to stop at traffic lights or in very slow traffic.
    Today I had my first twisty roads as I came down from the mountains near Pollino national park. I ignored the ridiculous so of limit of 20kph in bend and 30 on the straight and just went at my safe speed as everyone else does.
    My route took me via Taranto so I came along the coast for an hour or so.
    I'm now in Monopoli in a four star hotel with no room internet no working restaurant, no pool, poor air con. But it does have soap in the bathroom unlike yesterday's.
    Tomorrow no riding. I went for a walk and found the local swimming area so I will go.
    I'm just back from eating one of the best pizzas ever and it was only 5 euros.
    Read more