Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Valdaora Italy

    September 25, 2023 in Italy ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    It was great to wake up to sunshine this morning at Lake Bled Slovenia but I wasn't expecting 8c temperature. By the time we left it was 11c. I drove with my thin waterproof over my thin jumper and was fine. The route Mandy chose was just great. No motorways, quiet roads and a couple of challenging passes one called Wrzenpass which has a very long downhill at 18% so it was second and third gear for a long time and I still had to brake quite a lot. As usual Blubelle was great. I've uploaded a video from the second much easier pass.
    We stopped for a coffee and noticed a clothes shop across the road. Mandy bought me a nice winter jacket, a wooly hat and a pair of gloves. She also bought herself a nice jumper.
    So now I'm prepared for the cold.
    Of course soon after buying a jacket it warmed up and I took it off.

    We started the day in Slovenia then crossed a border into Austria then another into Italy which is where we are now. Tomorrow we will probably go over the Brenner pass then into Germany.
    This hotel which in winter would be a ski resort town. Very nice. We walked into town for a pizza which was good but we both thought the red and white wine at 1.30€ glasses were watered down.
    Read more