Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Oberhausen Germany

    September 27, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Germany is not as forward in accepting card payments as I thought. Last night the restaurant insisted on cash and today as we tried to check out of the hotel the Booking.com payment didn't go through so I offered 2 cards. The machine wouldn't accept either so I had to go into town and draw can then come back and pay.
    Today's drive was nearly all motorway. The sat nav said 3.5 hours. It took nearly 6 with stops and traffick issues.
    I needed petrol and bought some at the wrong place. I've never paid so much 2.37 euro per litre. Then 4.50 for a coffee
    .
    We are in a lovely place tonight which is half the price of last night's hotel. We met some nice German people and had evening meal with them. The hotel has a vineyard so we will buy some wine in the morning before we leave.
    Not many good photos today as the motorway was boring.
    Read more