Satelit
Tunjukkan pada peta
  • Hari 13

    Shinjuku Apartmentー新宿でアパートのようなホテル

    18 Disember 2022, Jepun ⋅ ☀️ 46 °F

    This week is meant to be a week of spontaneous plans in Tokyo. Since the last two weeks I've been with my two friends, it has been a costant flow of activity every day. I want to have a little time to rest before my trip picks back up again around Christmas Eve. These are just my general thoughts on the comparison between this apartment and what my experiences have been in American apartments.

    My friend told me that this hotel/apartment is a bit larger than what a normal Japanese apartment may be. It's definitely smaller than the average American apartment but I think the appliances and placement of all the appliances lets this apartment have more utility that what the average American apartment has compared to the space taken up. Many more appliances are able to be fit into a small kitchen. I think in America these appliances would be set on the counter but in this Japanese apartment they integrate the appliances right into the counter.

    I'm a very very very big fan of how the bathtub is set up. The tub was super deep and there was a little electronic control to fill up the tub and with how much water. I rarely take a bath in the states but took a bath pretty much every single day in this apartment😶‍🌫️ All of the hotel tubs in Japan have been bigger than any tub I've experienced in America. I knew Japan took baths seriously, but I didn't realize how much I would come to love relaxing in the tub here compared to back home. At home, I have to buy a special drain plug to keep the tub from draining once it gets to about 3/5 full. In Japan, the tubs are so deep you don't need to worry about it at all. This apartment bathroom also had a drain on the floor outside the tub. So, there was no need for a curtain. It felt so much more spacious and chill to be able to take a shower or bath without having the curtain confining you to the tub. This is not something I ever thought about before but I really liked having a literal "bath" room instead of having the sink/toilet/bath all together in one and especially the floor drain.

    The balcony had a really cool view but I didn't use it much because it was kind of chilly out. The insulation in Japan is not as good as America so the cold was able to seep in much more easily as well. The hanging heater is very effective but it took me a bit to figure out what the most desirable celcius temperature is. Plus, the first night I didn't turn it on at all so I didn't want to get out of bed 🛌 I finally understand the song about not wanting to leave the futon 😂 (linked at bottom)

    With such a small space, leaving out one or two pieces of clothing or trash can make the space feel cluttered. So I made sure to constantly be cleaning and putting things away as I used them. I liked being forced to do this because my Apartment at home is large enough that I can ignore clutter until cleaning it up becomes a large task 😅

    -----
    I Don't Want to Leave My Futon song
    https://youtu.be/Yv6shy_9KVM

    Comparison of Japanese/American insulation and heating:
    https://youtube.com/shorts/qobwYAOSLAc?feature=…
    Baca lagi