Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day 7 - i climbed a mountain

    July 8, 2018 in Taiwan ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Hey travel journal,
    Omg my feet and knees hurt sooo much! But it was worth it. Today was a massive day but I had the best time.
    We got up early and the amazing Sam had brought me breaky so I got ready and headed downstairs with everyone else. Then we were off, first stopping at the shops to get food, water and a bandage for Sophie's knee (can you believe that rock tape is not a. Thing here?) then we jumped on the MRT, then the fast train and then a bus and after maybe 2 hours we were at tea tree mountain. The view was absolutely amazing! We walked right up to the top of the cliff, along the top of the Ridge and along the Ridge. Which let me tell you was sometimes so scary because you literally were just climbing on the rock holding on to a rope the was bolted to the side of the mountain and trying to find the man made foot holds. Then back down the other side stopping at the ruins of an old Japanese themple. Apparently when China first took over Taiwan they went right across the country and just literally pulled the gates off and tore down the temples to make sure that there was no Japanese culture left. At the top platform the used to have a well with a bell that hung over the top and people would walk up, clap twice, ring the bell and pray and then throw a coin into the well. There is still a little concrete box with an inscription carved on it and people have been putting coins on top. Which is nice to see. Then we continued walking down and met everyone else at the bottom. We were at the back of the group because I'm unfit and my knees hurt a lot going up sooooo many stairs. Turns out the whole walk, hike, rock climbing, cliff hanging adventure took us 5 hrs! Then we got ice cream - best vanilla ice cream in the history of forever and jumped on a bus. After a short ride we got off at a place where they had loads of markets to get dinner. I'm the area is called old street, which is apparently quite popular. I got the best pineapple smoothie ever (kept getting brain freeze) and vegetable fried rice, then we headed up to a little pagoda and sat and ate and watched the sunset, which was very pretty over the harbour behind the mountains. Then back on a bus, but this time the bus is taking us back into the city so no changing onto a fast train. Just bus for a 1-2hrs then MRT from the city and we were back. During the day Sharni had decided to have a quite day and stay in. She messaged me to check in regularly and even went on an adventure and back to the museum and out to get her own dinner. I'm so proud she is totally coming out of her shell. Once we got off the MRT we were told that there has been a tsunami warning for Tuesday but that we had to be ready in case it hits tomorrow. Which meant stopping at shops on the way home and buy food. I brought cereal and bread and peanut butter and I have three water bottles I can fill after today and all the left over snacks from things I have been buying along the way, so I am set. Walking and having energy is soo hard and everything is taking forever but now I'm showered, sunburnt and in bed and I'm so ready to pass out. Night xoRead more