Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Bondi: New Years

    December 31, 2016 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    Today I headed into town to try to plan my next move up north to Byron bay. I met up with my Swedish friends at their hostel so that I could see what bus to take and after figuring that out I booked my hostel. After eating a little I headed towards the opera house to try to meet up with Chris and Kerstan who had already gone into the parks. When I got off the train I was hungry and accidentally bought a nine dollar chocolate croissant. Then I headed up to Mrs. Macquarie's Chair in search of a way in. Half way up I asked some event staff if they were still letting people in to any of the parks and they told me not unless you had bought a prepaid ticket. So I gave up and headed back home which was much more difficult and took much longer than normal due to changes bus routes and technical problems on the only train to Bondi. After over an hour I finally made it home to find three other girls who were apparently friends of my host. I showered and changed and had a lovely home cooked meal with Tom and all his guests then started wandering around, waiting for my Swedish friends to figure out what they were doing. Apparently I looked lost because a young German boy ran after me and asked if I had any plans and when I told him no he invited me to a barbecue. I thought that would be nice and went and enjoyed some homemade margaritas and another little dinner before we headed out to meet his other friends. After walking the wrong way and getting a taxi to the right place we walked up to the penthouse of an apartment building where there was a huge party. It had the most beautiful view of Bondi and the fireworks and besides the very long bathroom lines the whole party was amazing and filled with people from all over. At the end of a long night I walked the short distance home and quickly fell asleep.Read more