Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Katoomba

    January 14, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Although I didn't wake up that late, by the time I had showered and eaten it was after 11. I asked around for some good hikes and settled on one that brought me by lots of waterfalls. I descended the same steps to get down to the forest but went the opposite way of last night. It was a very nice walk filled with fun animal sounds and a weird peacock looking thing . Trying to follow the advisors instructions I stuck to the right and ended up heading down the beginning of a 15 km hike. After a small swamp and lots of grasshoppers I turned around realizing I was going the wrong way. I backtracked and headed up some stairs and finally found Leura falls which I stood under to cool off. I headed back out of the forest seeing little water falls everywhere and popping out on the other side of town. Unfortunately I couldn't walk on the street I needed so I went through a park that lead me in the wrong direction. It ended up taking me over an hour to make it back to my hostel where I collapsed and took a short nap. When I woke up I showered and by that time it was almost dinner. After dinner I met a nice Swiss guy who agreed to go on a long walk with me tomorrow and then we both went to bed.Read more