Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Paris Day Three - The Marathon

    April 2, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    What else is there to say about day three in Paris?

    We ran the Paris Marathon. And finished it, thankfully.

    That’s mara number 7 and they don’t seem to get any easier for me….

    Krissi and I are both still feeling jet-lagged, but 6 months of training kicked in.

    Why do marathon designers decide that there should be a climb near the end? This one had a 5km climb from 35-40km. Merde.

    Really wanted to walk at that point, but got a text messages from Nicole all the way back in Melbourne at JUST the right moment. Took her advice, gritted my teeth and pushed through.

    Also got lots of nice messages from family and friends who were tracking our runs on the app. Put the pressure on, but it had the end result of me pushing through the pain and self doubt.

    Anyway, happy to report I got a PB! I went quicker by about 1.5 minutes than my previous best. It’s still a PB!

    The journey back to our AirBNB was interesting - got so cold I was violently shaking and thought I was going to vomit on the train. A French guy also pushed past and stole my seat, thanks mate. Merde.

    Finally, I am SO proud of Kristine who finished the mara - she has now completed Paris, NY and Sydney Marathons.

    Wrapped up the day with a meal out at a French restaurant. Which seems to mean all the meat is raw and the chips are cold. But I’m tired so I won’t complain….🤣

    We missed Alex and the Campbells a lot today - I know Krissi would have loved to share the experience with her. Maybe they will have to train up together for London 2024…. 🤣
    Read more