Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Obs and gynae day 4

    April 17, 2018 on the Philippines ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Woke up at 7.30am feeling very groggy. So much so that I got off the jeepney in the wrong place and had to walk for about 10 mins to get to the hospital. Was meant to be on a pm shift but needed to go in to speak to Ma’am Eden about signing my end of elective forms early as she is on holiday and I am away at the village for the last week. Had to wait in the office for about half an hour while she sorted out various things but eventually she came and found me. She agreed to sign the forms as long as I filled in some feedback for her which seems fair enough. After that I went to the delivery room where I met Nadine who is a midwifery student who arrived on Sunday so I hadn’t met her yet. I told her about how stuff worked in the unit and explained to her some of the cultural differences so that she would be less shocked when she saw her first delivery. Nothing much was happening for a while so we went and cuddled some of the babies. I also popped my head into NICU as there was a baby with congenital hydrocephalus which was really interesting but sad. Eventually there were 2 deliveries for us to see, one of which had a retained placenta as the doctor managed to snap the cord and membranes off it by pulling too hard!
    I then went back the office and found Kasia who wanted to go grab some lunch. We went to the supermart down the road from the hospital which has a fast food place in it that sells rice and noodley dishes which are actually really nice. We also wanted to try halo halo which is the local special dessert which is essentially coconut milk ice with all sorts of random toppings on it like jelly, ubo ice cream, banana, beans etc. It was actually really tasty. After this I went back to the delivery room but nothing was really happening and I was feeling very sleepy. I left at 3pm.
    Once I was back at the house I chilled in my room and watched the formula 1 that I had missed from the weekend. Took my massive bag of washing to the laundry and then had dinner. Went to collect my laundry and pretty much got into bed feeling knackered.
    Read more