Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Getaria

    May 24, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Today's walk was about 30 km again. Several big ups and downs, some gorgeous coastal scenery, and a bit of re-routing to get us across the superhighway/autovía/toll road. It's called the A-8, and it wasn't here the last time I walked through. We went through two coastal towns, Orio and Zarautz. I remember that in 1995 our family had spent a few nights in Zarautz-- it's a less expensive (and much less beautiful) place than San Sebastián. But the waves were great, I remember how our kids loved them. And they are still huge and crashing.

    The last 4 km into Getaria were alongside the coast, squished between the narrow road and the cliff over the water. Pavement is always hard on the feet but at least this was beautiful. I started talking with a very stylish French woman. She was either starved for company or delirious from the sun because she told me my French is excellent. She does the camino the fancy way --sag wagon, rooms in nice hotels, food waiting at designated rest stops. Lots of ways to do this thing.

    I'm at an albergue and so far we are about 12. Mostly men, though there is a Finnish woman and another American. The guys are French, Romanian, Italian and US. I expect this will be an ear plug night. No complaints and a lot of gratitude. Not a bad way to end the day!
    Read more