Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    ... in Ataun

    May 25, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    This was a 25 km day that felt like a lot more. But I don't think there could be a more beautiful coastal walk. For whatever reason, the good people in charge of the Camino arrows do not follow the coastal path. I had read that there was a GR route that ends up in the same town of Deba but is much more beautiful. I had it on my GPS, and three others I knew from the albergue wanted to come also. There were three hard ups and downs, though I don't think the total elevation gain was more than 750 m.

    I could have stopped after 20 km in Deba (Dana, there is now a new albergue in the train station), but knew there was a private albergue about 4 km away (all uphill of course). At about 2:45 I dragged my weary body into the albergue. It is in an old family cow barn, with a view over the hills to the ocean. Separate rooms for male and female--hooray!!! 25€ for bed and dinner. No charge for the hour I've been sitting in the old cow pasture under a tree in a lounge chair. Life is good!!
    Read more