Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    ... in Portugalete

    May 28, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Today was a great day. I had a long walk on a lot of asphalt but it was worth it. I was on the road by 7, spent a few km on the side of a quiet road and then up through a big pine forest, and I was in the beautiful city of Bilbao by 10 am. Getting through the city was of course all on asphalt and then another long 12 km along the canal/port, and I was very glad it was a Sunday with no trucks whizzing by on the narrow roads. Finally I got to Portugalete, where I got to ride on a mixture between a funicular, a train and a ferry across the river.

    Once settled in the albergue two of my friends (a father/son pair) from last year's camino came to pick me up for a long lunch, a long walk around town, and a lot of great memories.

    Time for bed because tomorrow will be another long day, on a lot of asphalt I am afraid.
    Read more