Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    ... in Castro Urdiales

    May 29, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    It was raining when I woke up, and it started to rain about 15 minutes after I arrived in my small hotel. But in between, not one drop fell. That is a Camino miracle!

    This is a very pretty little town, it has a very nice historical core, with lots of new apartment buildings all around. But the walk was really quite good, except for a fair amount of asphalt. Great views of the ocean along the coast, and a lot of pilgrims walking! I've met several Spaniards, a couple from Santa Fe, and bunches of French. The route is well marked and very pretty. When I got here at around 12:30, I decided to get a room in a little place near the beach for €35, which won't break the bank. The albergue is about a km out of town and looks very cramped. This way, I have a couple of hours to visit the historic core this afternoon, which is really quite pretty. I hope the pictures show that.

    Tomorrow will be anywhere from 27-33, km but I think I will make a reservation in Laredo so I don't have to worry about space.
    Read more