Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Moving to the Centro Historico

    January 21, 2018 in Mexico ⋅ 🌙 6 °C

    My three amigas had to head home, so I had the day to myself. First a couple of hours walking around the Condesa neighborhood. Seems that every single person in Mexico City is out and about on Sunday. In parks, on bikes, in playgrounds, eating street food. It was pretty lively!

    Around noon I got an Uber up to the Centro Histórico hotel -- had to move to a place with a gym, since I'll be here another week. Joe will arrive tomorrow early evening, and this place is really well located and comfortable in an old building. Hampton Inn, believe it or not!

    So, for the afternoon, I went to a few places that wouldn't necessarily be on the top of Joe's list. San Ildefonso, the first Jesuit school in Mexico, till they got kicked out of the country by Carlos III. There are some great murals in here (Rivera's first), and there was also an exhibit on Che's 7 months in Africa. Who knew?!

    Walking towards my next destination, I passed an open air Dali sculpture exhibit. I am not much of a Dali fan, but it was fun. In the Diego Rivera museum (built just to house one of his really beautiful murals when the building it was in collapsed), there was a Sunday afternoon piano concert in the mural room. Other rooms have photos and paintings from his trip to Russia. So I am getting my dose of lefties today. I guess Dalí balances that out.

    Last stop, Museo de Arte Popular, really super. Free on Sunday (as was the previous place) and though it's small, it has great displays, all really nicely done.

    Time to get a bite to eat and into bed early. I'm leaving for the pyramids at 7:30 in the morning.
    Read more