Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Pyramids!!!

    January 22, 2018 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Yesterday, I asked my Uber driver if he would be interested in driving me out to the Pyramids and back. Promptly at 7:30, his VW Passat was outside the hotel. By 8:45, I was walking through the enormous site at Teotihuacán. 5 hours was just barely enough, and I am a pretty fast walker! In addition to the temple of the Plumed Serpent, the Pyramid to the Moon, and the Pyramid to the Sun, there are tons more things to see and do, including a museum with the best frescoes from the site, another museum with artifacts and a model of the entire city as it existed when 85,000 people lived there, several palaces with more frescoes, altars, and underground caverns. It is truly overwhelming. The day was cloudless, not too hot, and the grounds were not too crowded. Just perfect.

    On the way out in the morning, I learned that Arturo is a law student, and that gave us plenty to talk about during the trip. This guy has a lot of drive and character, a 35 year old going back to school at age 32, and now just two years away from being a lawyer. Driving Uber is the best job he could hope for, he says, because it gives him all the flexibility he needs. When we got to the gate, Arturo confessed that he hadn't been to the Pyramids since he was 12, so I bought him a ticket too. We both went our own way and compared notes on the way home. Based on this sample of 2, I would say most people come away slack-jawed.

    So if anyone needs a driver in Mexico City, let me know because I have Arturo's email and phone numbers -- much better for him if you set it up privately, like I did for the pyramids.
    Read more