Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    More snow in the mountains

    May 11, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    I told myself when I went to bed last night that I would decide today after the first 20 km whether to continue another 20 or stop in Calzada de Bejar. Who was I kidding? I slept till 7, sat chatting in the albergue over coffee till almost 8 and at that point the decision was essentially made. No way could I start at 8 and have an enjoyable 40 km walk.

    Aside from a few early morning kms on the side of the highway, virtually all the rest was off road and very very nice. In forests, alongside pastures and rivers, going up gradually and then descending. I had a lot of time and stopped a lot to talk. Interesting to hear a lot of local opinion about the Catalán “issue.” There seems to be no reasonable solution in sight.

    The Guardia Civil patrol a portion of today’s walk because it is also part of a system of local trails. They were in no hurry to get anywhere and spent ten or fifteen minutes interrogating me about walking alone, etc. They have never had an incident on the camino and have never heard of one in their area. The bigger problem seems to be a bit of illegal dumping!

    I am in a very nice Casa Rural, Calzada Romana. 20 € for private room with bath and breakfast. The owners will also cook dinner, an offer I happily seized upon because there is no store and no restaurant.

    Three more days walking! How crazy is that?!
    Read more