Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Campo de Santiago

    June 22, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    Today I passed through the battlefield where St. James the Moorslayer (the non-pc alter ego of StJames the pilgrim) came back to life during the Reconquest and killed tens of thousands of Moors . Despite that awful image, it’s a beautiful spot.

    I left Vegarienza very early because my plan was to combine two short days into one and to split it up with a visit to Rosi, the woman who runs the Albergue in the middle. I wound up spending two hours there catching up. Five years ago, things were touch and go when I walked through. Now, the family is doing great. It was a really nice visit.

    But it did make for a very long 38 km day. And the big ascent came right after my visit with Rosi. I should have been rested but it was hard. By 4:30, though, after a Kas Limón break in the town with the longest name in all of Spain, I was checking into the Albergue. It’s very nice —lots of hot water and real sheets. That’s albergue luxury.

    And the restaurant across the street is making me an ensalada mixta and some fried eggs so I will be happy and full in a few minutes.
    Read more