Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    In the Dallas Airport

    September 2, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 34 °C

    Oh, this (relatively new) American flight from Champaign to Dallas is great. Quick, no mess with O´Hare, and we get to Dallas in time to make lots of international connections. Today’s will be to Sao Paulo. Since Joe’s tenure as a Brazilian historian goes back about 50 years, we decided it was time for what might be “one last trip” to see friends, re-visit old haunts, etc. So we will spend five nights in Sao Paulo, 6 in Rio.

    Since our society seems to know no limits in its relentless quest to distinguish people on the basis of status, American is opening “flagship lounges” in its major airports. That means that the Admirals Club has become a club for the masses, and the flagship lounge is for the cream. I am not really complaining, though, because even though I am wearing my old jeans and my beloved Altra shoes that walked 800 kms this summer in Spain, my boarding pass lets me in. :-). I will say, though, that although this club surpasses my former favorite of the Iberia lounge in Madrid, the Iberia lounge still has a leg up on this place because it has a dark room with beds. On our return, we will arrive at 5 am, with our connection at 10 am, and that amenity would have been quite nice.

    And finally, in another nod to total slothiness, I used miles to buy upgrades. That means we will lie FLAT on this overnight trip. How great is that?! And since the time change is only two hours, we should not have all the zonking discombobulation that you get when you fly to Europe.

    Though I have to admit, Brazil is not my favorite travel destination, I am looking forward to these two weeks. Our daughter is coming to spend the first five days with us, so that will be really fun. And six nights in Rio, well, that can’t be bad.
    Read more