Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    First travel day

    September 6, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    After a 15-month hiatus, the longest I’ve gone without a Camino since I started walking in 2000, I am heading out. I had a lot of doubts about whether it was the right time, but Spain is one of the highest vaccinated countries in the world, I have N95 masks, I will sleep only in private rooms, and I will eat only outdoors or in my room. Some may think this sounds isolating and solitary, but it is exactly what I need. In fact, about a month ago I had to break the news to two dear Camino buddies that I was backing out of our tentative plans to walk together. I just wanted to walk alone.

    I picked the Salvador/Primitivo, even though I’ve already walked this route 3 times, because it is beautiful, slightly remote in places, mountainous, and will get me into Santiago in about 17 days. I couldn’t plan on a longer camino this year, but I’m hoping I can at least get to Santiago. And then if things are fine at home, I will walk into Santiago, hop on a bus to Braga, Portugal, and walk another short Camino, the Geira, back into Santiago. But I am at least hoping to make it to Santiago once.

    After a brain freeze that led me to think that tapping on the mute button was the way to UNmute, and panicking because no one could hear me when I did that, I was fortunate to have Clare at the ready in British Columbia to patiently talk me through it.

    Now one hour till boarding the Iberia flight to Madrid. Hopefully no more phone crises. Let the Covid isolation camino begin!!!
    Read more