Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Made it to Leon

    September 7, 2021 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Well I wouldn’t say I had the best of luck today, but I am here in Leon and very happy about that! The flight from Madrid arrived early, and we zoomed through immigration. Then there was no wait at the health check where they looked at my vaccination card and then another tiny line to show the QR code. This is a breeze, I thought. About a half hour from feet on the ground till I exited the airport.

    Then my luck took a turn for the worse. I got on the intra-airport bus to go to the post office in Terminal one so I could mail my duffel bag up to Santiago. When I got there, I learned the post office was closed because of Covid. Oh well, I headed back to Terminal 4 to get a cup of coffee, but first I checked about my bus at the ticket office outside. There I learned there was an earlier bus leaving three minutes later, but there was no time for me to change my ticket and get on it.

    Then I learned I could not get back into the terminal without a boarding pass. So I had a two hour wait at the bus stop without being able to get my first Spanish café con leche. At least I was outside. But don’t think I could take off my mask because the regulations require one inside and out in urban areas.

    Amazing what a shower can do. It’s a beautiful city and I’m glad that I’ll be here all day tomorrow when a friend who lives about 50 miles away comes to see me.
    Read more