Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Douro again!

    November 1, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    The plan originally was to head to Porto today, but someone at breakfast raved about a place they had stayed, in a working vineyard no less. That was enough for me to change plans. I just love this part of Portugal. So we lolly-gagged around the valley, up and down from the river level to high lookout points, and had a picnic lunch at one of them. On the way, I saw several arrows, reminding me that I had walked through these parts a little more than a month ago.

    By about 3:30, we were checked in to the Casal dos Capelinhos. Joe was starting his nap, and I was walking up and down, back and forth (some rows are parallel to the river, some are perpendicular) from one row of grapes to another. The sun dropped slowly behind the hill in front of us, and it was so peaceful. The time flew by.

    We will eat here tonight, and tomorrow we will definitely go to Porto!
    Read more