Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Travel day —make that DAYS

    March 15, 2023 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Thursday night before heading to our wonderful meal in Quince Letras, I got a travel alert from American. Bad weather tomorrow in Dallas and did I want to change my flight . My few attempts to contact AA we’re unsuccessful, so I just left everything as it was.

    I thought things were looking up when we boarded our flight in Oaxaca, headed to Dallas, just a few minutes late. I was wrong.

    Storms in Dallas meant we had to divert to Houston to get more fuel. After about 90 minutes on the runway, they cancelled the rest of the flight. The plan was to get to Dallas in the morning.

    They told me the only way to get home before Tuesday was to fly into Bloomington from Dallas. But then while I was waiting for the hotel voucher, two seats on the Dallas flight to Champaign for today magically, opened up.

    We had a night in an airport hotel, and got on the 630 shuttle to get back to the airport for our 9 AM flight. Halfway to the airport I realized Joe did not have his backpack. I called the hotel, and they were very unhelpful. Since the pack contained our very expensive alebrije, and since the very nice driver assured us he would get us back right away, we took the chance . And here we are in Houston airport once again.

    So here we go, starting Day #2 of travel. Hoping it is uneventful.

    Edited to add that we made it to Dallas, and our flight to Champaign leaves in about 90 minutes. To top it all off, it is SUNNY! We are the beneficiaries of someone else’s travel woes, because the flights to Champaign are all full for days.

    Just so I won’t lose track of the names of the restaurants we enjoyed, here they are:

    I’d recommend them all. La Catedral (in the patio), Casa Oaxaca, Maguey y Maíz, Asador Vasco (good fish), Danzantes, Origen, La Pitiona, Tierra del Sol (the only one that wouldn’t get a strong thumbs up from me). And our last night in 15 Letras was fabulous, on the roof terrace.

    Coffee and breakfasts. Boulenc, Filemón, and Jazz.
    Read more