Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Fuentes to Cuenca

    May 23, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    Another low key day, 24 kms, into the UNESCO World Heritage city of Cuenca. The drought is just awful. Fields that would be a brilliant emerald green are dry. This area is a
    little less dry than where we have been, and there are more wildflowers than we have seen up till now, but it looks like one crop failure after another.

    The walk itself was really nice. We went by some lagoons, through two small villages with no facilities, but almost every step was off road. As we came in to Cuenca, we passed an endless mindnumbing series of square apartment buildings. No balconies, no cafés or panaderías, just square apartment buildings. It seems so anti-Spanish to build housing that way, but I guess it’s efficient.

    The three of us all chose different places to stay, and I am near the cathedral and near a really good restaurant coincidentally! I had a good lunch, and walked for several hours afterwards to walk some of it off.

    Alun, Clare, and I all met up in late afternoon to walk around a bit and enjoy the views of the town built on top of a gorge. We then walked out to see the pilgrim albergue, and we plan to go back tomorrow when the Association is open. The albergue is always reported to be excellent, but I really wanted a rest day here, so two nights in a hotel is the better way to go. Albergue stays are limited to one night.

    I took one last stroll after dark just to see things in the dark. I knew that the spectacular illumination I remember from years ago had been discontinued because of the huge cost, but it still was beautiful.

    Tomorrow a rest day! It’s been many years since I’ve taken a rest day on a camino, probably more than 15, but I’m looking forward to this one!
    Read more