Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Rest day in Cuenca

    May 24, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Like most rest days, I wound up spending most of the time walking. It was fun. A quick synopsis would include a visit to the Cuenca archaeological museum, the Cuenca abstract, art museum, a walk up to the castle, a goodbye lunch in Clare’s pension, and a visit to the Camino association. Just as Lee had told me, Luis said he would have happily let us stay in the albergue for two nights. Oh well, next time.

    Tomorrow begins the second half of this Camino. Alun is going down to Alicante for a few days and then home, so it’s just Clare and I. We were lucky to meet someone at the Association office who has just walked from Cuenca to Burgos. I will write more about the news on the Forum, but the piece of information that stood out most in my mind is that we can no longer climb the Tetas de Viana because the metal staircase at the top has collapsed. And we also learned that the son of the bar owner in Caracena is in the process of opening a Casa Rural in town, and pilgrims can stay there. But we will have plenty of time to figure out whatever adjustments need to be made. For now it’s time for me to go to bed so that I can be sure to make it to the Roman villa in Noheda for an 11:00 tour.
    Read more