Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Visiting Gibraltar and walking 36 km

    April 13 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    My plan for today was to walk up the Mediterranean steps, view St. Michael’s cave, visit the tunnels and the Moorish castles. That was 22 km of beautiful views, interesting historical facts, monkeys, and walking across an active airport runway. From La Linea, it’s an easy walk to the border, and from there up to the rock is very pleasant and interesting.

    I got back to my hotel room at about 3:30, and heard from Clare that she was going up the cable car in Gibraltar. She had already walked the first 8 km of tomorrow’s route, and was going to spend some time over in great Britain. I decided I would also walk those first 8 km, which would make tomorrow’s day an easy 20. Note to self: do not start walking on a Camino at four in the afternoon.

    Wikiloc tells me me my total was 32, but that’s not the whole story. My phone died as I was doing this last segment, and my visual memory of the trail was that it kept going straight instead of turning left on the road. Down down down I went and when about 12 dogs came bounding out barking at me, I had a moment. Luckily, I heard a woman’s voice and called out to her. It turns out I had gone the wrong way, and I would have to retrace my steps for another kilometer or so up, and then have a 3 km roadside walk into San Roque. I was beat when I got there and very happy to find a cab to take me back to La Linea.

    Clare was at dinner when I got back to the hotel, but she waited at the restaurant for me so we could finally see each other! Had a really good dinner thanks to Claire’s Google searching, and we finally got to catch up. I am not a foodie, but it was an excellent salad.

    Tomorrow we only have 20 K and since Clare is still very jetlagged, I’m just going to wait till she calls me. I’m so glad I walked that first segment today, even though it took a lot out of me, because now Clare and I have a walk in the park tomorrow!

    I am recording my tracks on Wikiloc for those of you who use it, and you can find them under my username of peregrina2000.

    https://www.wikiloc.com/wikiloc/spatialArtifact…
    Read more