Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Out and About in Warwick

    March 13, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Leslie Dam - 15 minutes from Warwick.

    Very impressive. Seems a bit leaky in areas where it shouldn't be, though. We stood right next to the open spillway gate letting the water through - deafening!

    There were huge boulders around the dam...but no info as to why they were localised to just that area. The faces carved into the two boulders were the original settlers who came to the area in 1840, who were Irish.

    Allora Heavy Horse Show - 20 mins from Warwick in a cute little village.
    Just brilliant.
    $10 to get in, licensed bar, great food vans, lots to watch and stalls to browse.

    I do draw the line at the Aussie obsession with cheesy chips in gravy though.
    Chips and gravy? Yes. Winner.
    Cheesy chips and gravy? No. Abomination.

    Happily listened to the experts doing their presentations, who said they have been doing this for 30yrs or so.... and felt rather smug that our grandparents were doing it for real, four generations ago, on the farm.
    You inherited it all from us, Aussies!

    Tubby has been taken off to have her foal, we're all a bit excited to see it. Fatty & Chunk are enjoying the extra carrots every day.

    I have lovely (human) neighbours to the left of me and stuck up, arrogant youngsters to the right, who willfully ignore everyone and think their camper trailer is sound proof. They are wrong. We can all hear their 5hr long domestics every night.
    I do not miss being young and ignorant.

    The lovely neighbours to the left are slightly obsessed with keeping their concrete pad spotless. They have a huge leaf blower and it starts up at 8am each morning, until all evidence of nature has been blown away.

    They insist on handing me the blower to do mine each morning, not realising I don't give a hoot. So I have to hide behind the van with it going for 5 minutes, pretending. I did use it to blow the seeds and leaves up out of my bathroom vent this morning, though. Saved me a trip up there with a ladder and dustpan and brush.

    I do wonder what the other campsite residents think of that racket at 8am on a Sunday morning, though! Dick & I are still up at 5am each morning, so the noise doesn't bother us. I would blame Dick's bladder for the early wake up call, but it's not. It's mine.

    Perhaps I do miss being young, after all!
    Read more