Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Milford track day2

    November 9, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Feeling blessed to open the curtains and have clear blue skies. We crossed the suspension bridge over the Clinton river, after a few m's we enter the beech (tree) forest. We do a little detour on the wetlands and continue along the trial, covered with a crisp green moss blanket .

    We stopped to delayer, I am chuffed to walk only in a skin and a short sleeve body warmer (which I think is the best & worst item in my wardrobe). We are spoiled with countless waterfalls mostly because of the torrential rain last night. I jumped over a few puddles and streams to keep my Solomon's dry-ish. Amazed by all the different ferns and flora.

    We had a lunch break at the beautiful Hirere falls, the guides spoiled us with hot drinks. After another 4km hike the forest opens up to Breathtaking views of the permanent Ice fields at Prairie falls. Roedolf filled up his water bottle in the stream and we walked towards the waterfall. We spend some time here in awe with the abundance and diversity of scenery. A profound moment in nature I will cherish forever.

    I loved the fresh baked scones with jam & cream shortly after we arrived at the Pompolano lodge.

    Life is bliss! Dream it, plan it, do it!

    #neverstopexploring
    {Issy}
    Read more