Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Exploring and tasting

    January 10, 2017 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 33 °C

    1 USD buys you 4.5 Ringgit so celebrating 100 days of traveling in Malaysia makes me feel like we can live like royalties. Halfway on our walk this morning I spotted the Renaissance hotel where we ran in for some air con water and a decent western coffee. (That was after a terrible watery Malaysian filter coffee at the airbnb- I had to get my fix)

    After our mini break we walked down to KL Patronas twin tours, a marvelous high rise building which is symbolic of the future and possibilities of Malaysia. There are amazing designer shops (which Roedolf wasn't very optimistic about) the aircon didn't even convince him.

    We found a great Japanese lunch spot. I found comfort in the decor and general cleanliness of the restaurant. It is definitely a hotspot for corporate people. As we walked in I found peace of mind in the hygiene of the open plan kitchen where the food was prepared. I thought I was adventurous and ordered a local canned ice tea well it was not quite what I had in mind. I thought its reasonably healthy and looks refreshing but it was basically very very bitter cold tea. The food made up for it and it was really delicious, specially the miso soup and salmon &rice. The sushi was different from what our western palates are used to but still pretty good.

    {Issy}
    Read more