Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Cave Pagoda Temple

    January 16, 2017 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 0 °C

    I still get the same sort of uneasiness in temples that I got 30 years ago with my mom and grandmother in Turkey.

    Taking of your shoes, entering the temple with your right foot first, rule driven not directed by love.

    An amazing setting for this magnitude of a structure built on top off a mountain. Inside there are lots of smallercave temples all with unique praying areas covered with the best decorations. The views surrounding it, is beautiful, but given I have no religious bond with what this all entails its just statues to me. The monks fascinated me and I agree with Dolf that they have the best life's here.

    It was great to see, definitely a glimpse into the religious side of the Vietnamese culture, as the majority of them are Buddhists. People travel from very far to come and visit and pray in this Pagoda.

    {Issy}
    Read more