Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 64

    Day 64 ~ 21,400 Miles, Portland

    March 8, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 68 °F

    The last couple of days have been filled with nature’s beauty and pleasant surprises offset by the unexpected.

    Portland and Adelaide are wonderful destinations. We’ve see an amazing garden, quaint seaside villages, beautiful coastlines, beaches, sunrises, sunsets, and full moons worthy of postcards and travel posters, and of course koalas. I’ve learned so much about this wonderful country and the amazing people that live here.

    I’ve also come to realize that the hysteria and fear created by Covid-19 has paralyzed the travel industry and this trip is just a tiny blip in the grand scheme. My traveling companions and more importantly, my friends, have made the decision that best serves them and will be ending their trip early. I am happy for them that they are at peace with the decision but selfishly sad for myself. It seems that our cruise line, Regent, may be breaking under the weight of the virus restrictions to the point that the scuttlebutt on the ship ranges from further revised itineraries to ending the trip early. Time will tell.

    Whatever happens with the remainder of this trip, I remain ever grateful for the opportunity to travel this far and I will continue to cherish every moment spent and those moments yet to come.

    I am blessed.
    Read more