Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Wait. What? When?

    September 17, 2022 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 79 °F

    Day 16 ~ 12,640 Miles

    We spent a good part of the morning walking the grounds of the Imperial Palace in Kyoto. I’m sure it was once filled with life and excitement but that ended long ago when the capital moved to Tokyo. This massive structure on 30 acres in the heart of Kyoto now sits empty but for the tourists and staff. I was shocked to see the neglect of the outer grounds. The inner gardens are still beautifully maintained. Touring the palace interior is not permitted.

    The trip is winding down for part of our group so we had a farewell dinner tonight. The rest of us are headed to Hiroshima early tomorrow morning on the Shinkansen.

    It looks as if we may meet Typhoon Nanmadol (or storm 14 as the Japanese call it) in Hiroshima. Our train will likely be the last one until after the storm due to anticipated high winds. I have to believe l’m not the only one thinking that we are headed in the wrong direction. No news yet re any itinerary changes. Personally I’m hoping for a hotel bar and it’s a good thing I packed my umbrella and windbreaker. 😂
    Read more