Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Destination Yogyakarta

    November 12, 2023 in Singapore

    I wanted to get up a little earlier to head to the airport and catch the butterfly garden that I didn't get to see when I arrived in Singapore Airport.

    The butterflies were cool but the smell from the fruit left out to feed them and the heat of the enclosure was a bit too much for me to bear as my stomach was still iffy (having Indian on an already dodgy stomach was not my brightest move). So I had a quick look and then lumped myself outside my departure gate.

    I quickly realised I was no longer in the Western world with connected travel when I landed into Yogyakarta (although not many cities can compare to how smooth Singapore is to get around). It's a small airport and the train only runs every hour so I had a bit of a wait. I arrived at Snooze Hostel and the girls at reception were possibly the friendliest, happiest hosts I've ever had and gave me a full tour of the hostel.

    I then crashed for the day and looked up some things to do in Yogyakarta as the main temples to visit would be closed the next day. Rather than Indian as the cuisine of choice for the evening, I needed some home comforts so found an Italian and got some pizza (and also a baked spud!) .
    Read more