Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Last Day in Singapore

    November 11, 2023 in Singapore

    Food wasn't the best the night before and the stomach is paying for it today so it's gonna be a chill one.

    There was a little hidden forest in the city known as Clementi Forest where there are old abandoned railway tunnels and truss bridges. I got the metro to the spot and first checked out the old historic railway line that was turned into a tropical roadway. Pretty cool and nearly stepped on a monitor's tail when I wasn't looking at where I was going, not something you'd expect on a walk back home. I didn't actually find the elusive Clementi Forest as it was off the beaten track and looked to be quite muddy from the Google reviews so I let it off, but the old railway line was a lovely walk through the vibrant city.

    I then went to Haw Par Villa for some Chinese heritage. It's an old site that was created by the brothers who created Tiger Balm. It was a little run down and the Chinese folklore went over my head but it was graaand place to visit for half an hour and get some ice cream.

    I continued the walking trend and headed to the Southern Ridges which are a collection of parks and forests. The main attraction is Henderson Waves which is an awesome bridge that hangs 118ft above a busy main road and is the highest pedestrian bridge in Singapore. I walked around the parks a bit and then headed back to the bridge to watch sunset which did not disappoint looking out over the docks.
    Read more