Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10–11

    Mount Bromo Sunrise

    November 15, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    I arrived in Malang after being pleasantly surprised by the night train, it was definitely worth paying extra for the business class seats. The Snooze Hostel was once again perfect and helped me organise my trips. I did a bit of research to see if I could bike up Mount Bromo myself rather than take a guided tour but decided night time biking up a mountain probably wasn't the best idea.

    Given I was up early that morning I chilled for most of the day once I checked in given I knew I would be up at midnight to start the sunrise tour. I did a little exploring around Malang to see the vibrant blue and coloured villages.

    The sunrise tour started by cramming into the back of a Toyota Land Cruiser and the group of 6 of us took off. I was quickly glad of not trying to bike it alone! After stopping for a while at a checkpoint for the park, we eventually reached the sunrise viewing point around 3.30am with sunrise due around 5.00am. So we chilled and got some coffee and then took our spots on the crest of the mountain to watch the sunrise above Mount Bromo.

    The view was amazing and we had a great morning with very little cloud cover. I sat in peace for nearly an hour slowly watching the sky brighten with red and golden hues. Just at the start and end of the sunrise the volcano made two little hiccups which slowly dissipated into the dawn sky. The whole spectacle really was an "awe" moment.

    After sunrise we were due back to our Land Cruiser for 5.15am to start our descent and make our way across the sand desert to explore the active volcano crater.
    Read more