Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Volcano Exploring

    November 16, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    The descent in the Land Cruiser was much more thrilling now that we could actually see the steep ravines we were negotiating. Once we got to the bottom of the descent we raced across the flat sands to where we parked to explore the crater.

    The walk to the crater was short enough and gave us a little bit of time at the top before we had to head back to the jeep. At the top there appeared to be a trail across most of the rim of the crater which I would have liked to have explored further but unfortunately time didn't allow. The crater was cool though and was constantly billowing steam from its centre. The noise howling from it also caught me by surprise and was impressive.

    Once we returned to the Land Cruiser we settled in for our two hour journey back to Malang. On the way we got to go through the "Tellytubby" hills which the locals named for obvious reasons.

    I had a good shower back at the hostel as I was covered in dust and had a nap until early afternoon. I explored a bit more of Malang and while reading my book in the main square, two girls came up to me offering some home cooked meals they had which were wrapped in a banana leaf. It only cost 60c and their day seemed to have been made when I agreed. It wasn't the worst but I was also glad of the restaurants!
    Read more