Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 227

    Dorset meets its Waterloo

    October 19, 2020 in England ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    Only nine days in London and I'm on the rails again. With fears of another lockdown on the way, I feel the net is tightening and this proves to be my final trip before the anxieties are confirmed. Meanwhile however it's another visit to the West Country, three hours on the train from Waterloo to Dorset.

    Weymouth is an attractive town of about 50,000 people. Like Ramsgate, it has some decorative pavilions with curly ironwork on the seafront. Also like Thanet, it saw wartime action with Portland Harbour a important naval base, The inner harbour is popular with fishermen, yachties and drinkers. It's at one of these pubs where I buy a 2-pint a takeaway of local beer ready for a Zoom friendly tonight, When the girl puts it on the table, I give her a funny look as at first she seems to expect me to carry it back to the hotel without the lid. Just as well I have the small backpack to put it in!
    Read more