Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Back home

    May 8, 2022 in Switzerland ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    I really enjoyed my stay in Cambridge. It was a really beautiful city with many parcs, old college buildings and the river cam with a lots of nature near my home. My host family was also very kind. There is only one little thing. I ate to much chips. Every second dinner includes some chips. One positive thing about the language school was the building. It looked really beautiful from the outside. I also had one funny teacher with a very british humor who hated the queen and Boris Johnson. But in the first two weeks I learnt nearly nothing. I was in way to easy class and I hadn't the permission to change. Not because of my english skills, the only reason was the amount of german speaking people in this school. But after I finally could change the class in the last week I spoke more english and less swiss german. Because in the first class many people weren't able to speak fluently. We also hadn't that much free time. And our school had very strict rules. For example we had to be at home every day at 10 o clock. But if the bus at home takes 36 minutes and my average waiting time on the bus is around 20 minutes (two times over an hour) there wasn't that much time left. I was really lucky, that my hostparents trusted me and let me staying out a bit longer.
    I'm not sure how much i could improve my english skills, because of the school. But I realised that I'm able to speak way better english than I've expected. The only time I wasn't able to express a sentence was on my first evening there, were i forgot the word jam.
    To sum up it was a really great experience to be in a really new country.
    Read more