Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Counting down...and panicking!!

    July 10, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 9 °C

    I wasn't sleeping well last night feeling the pressure of time so it was a relief when morning finally arrived. Except it wasn't . "Good night" said my phone...2am 😨

    Now I know it's not NEW news that I'm going to Paris. However, did you know I'm ON the plane in 10 more Mondays...just ten more Mondays! Easy PEASY...✈🛬🗼

    What may be news is that I'm just popping into Paris before and after the main action.....sort of granny running away from home for 60 days....OE...whatever...

    However the main action is my proposed 1000km walk "solo y a pied"!

    Breathe....breathe...one breath...one step..by step by step 👣👣👣👣👣👣....no Doglette 😢😢😢

    😲😲😲And there's just 10 more Mondays to get myself in shape and sort my gear and climb on that plane with a little bag that will feel like a very big bag after an hour or two of walking and there are major considerations like the weight of my spare pair of knickers and what hiking gear covers temperatures from -1 to 30 C and "the rain in Spain falls mainly on the Plain" so rain gear is necessary and there's bunks to sleep in and wide open spaces without portaloos or even trees and I have a mature bladder....and I'm sort of modest and toileting, showering, dressing and sleeping within inches of strange men creates an interesting mix of emotions.😎😉😆😶😲😩

    AND PEOPLE SNORE AND I'M A PEOPLE AND IF I HAVE A COLD I SNORE AND A SNORE IS A SNORE AND PEOPLE ON THE CAMINO HATE SNORERS EVEN IF B SAYS IT IS MORE LIKE A PURR.....HE ISN'T THERE TO EXPLAIN.....

    And I thought I would be lean and fit by now and I'm not.✖ And I thought I would be caught up with life...garden done ✔✖, house done✔✖, social life done✔✖, children and children's children done ✔✖ ( I let myself off the hook with the children's children's four children).

    So in the early hours of the morning, this 10 week countdown materialised into consciousness (I had wondered why I overreacted yesterday to a reasonable request to have two lovely teenage granddaughters for a week in the holidays.... I wasn't excited and there is a flock/ herd/ gaggle/ bunch of birthdays in the next 10 weeks....

    To get a grip on this I'm planning a Monday-by-Monday Camino countdown.

    💃Buy 10 session tickets for both an Aquafit and a Yoga weekly class to ensure more balance to my fitness training
    💃Order new Salamon shoes....decided not to ignore niggles about present shoes...they should arrive by next week ready to walk with pack
    💃Assemble clothes and gear for backpack - max at 10lb ( "Spare knickers? What spare knickers?")
    💃Just usual Doglette walking this week waiting on shoes
    💃Squats, squats and more swats...tired-squat, happy -.squat 🙈🙉🙊

    Ten more Mondays...whose counting?
    Read more