Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Suzuka Qualifying

    September 23, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    On Saturday I found my seat for the rest of the weekend, on the entry to the 3rd corner, entering the S section of the track. I also realized this was the Red Bull fan grandstand, although I soon found that the biggest cheers were for Perez as there was a large Mexican attendance.

    From my seat I could see the start lights (and just about the top of the cars down the main straight), turn 1/2 and the run up the hill into the S. It was staggering watching the cars fly through the these corners on their hot laps, they change direction so quickly it barely seems real.

    After qualifying I decided to wait at the track for a while instead of queueing for the bus, there was a track walk however the queue was already busy 2 hours before it opened so I decided to give it a miss. Instead I watched the driver interviews, amazingly everyone sat on the ground to ensure that others could get a good view. A surprise appearance from Sebastian Vettel was also great!
    Read more