Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Shinjuku

    September 25, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    Taking the bullet train to Tokyo I arrived in Shinjuku where I am staying for the next week. Upon getting off the train I spent half an hour walking around the labyrinth that is Shinjuku station, which is mostly underground with multiple different levels and so densely populated that GPS just gives up. After a while my goal changed from trying to find the correct exit to just trying to find sunlight. Once I finally reached the surface my hotel was only a 5 minute walk away.

    Shinjuku is one of the largest entertainment hubs in Tokyo, the scale of the place is incredible, all through the night the streets are brightly lit up with various advertisements and music videos. I explored the area to find Godzilla street, as well as the 3d cat billboard.

    Although there are huge streets with thousands of people passing through, there are also small densely packed alleyways, a famous area of these being the Golden Gai district, an area full of tiny bars, some being so small they can barely fit 10 people in! This district has a very cosy atmosphere as travellers from all over the world meet
    Read more