Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 6 - El Real de la Jara - 14 km

    September 26, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Oh what a night…..
    The scratchy throat bothered me all afternoon and evening. I really was not feeling well. Then I remembered the little lolly shop just down the road which was open in the afternoon for the kids.
    Remember Spain has a solid siesta anywhere from 2 - 6 pm and nowhere else was open. So I went down and with the help of the lovely lady proprietor found some throat lozenges.
    They were a great help. A while later my eyes started streaming. That’s when I realised this was an allergy and not a bug, so I dived into my antihistamines (sleepy ones) and finally had a pretty good nights sleep.
    Feeling better this morning though still not 100%. It’s only 13 km today and the weather is significantly cooler so I can have a bit of a lie in. There was only one other person at this albergue, Martin from Switzerland, and he left early for his 34 km day. There are around 9 pilgrims per day at the moment. So I am not alone but can have my alone time as needed.
    Today was really sweet. I walked with a man from Italy who, when he was a boy, had been traumatised by a dog. And there were plenty of dogs today so he stuck close to me. I also walked with the Italian couple again. They are older and go at my pace.
    This route today took us off road through a number of farms with plenty of dogs, pigs, and goats for meat and milk.
    I also passed my first shrine - to Mother Mary. I spent a few quite moments with her and felt the deep stillness and peace that is really everywhere but seemingly easier to connect to in such places.
    I feel very much at home in Spain even though I hardly understand a thing. People are generally kind and patient although sometimes look at me like I am an idiot - and I don’t blame them. I am practicing my Spanish every night and am getting a little better.
    After we arrived at El Real and found our accommodation, my three walking companions and I had a great mid afternoon lunch. My Italian friend has a bit of English so he could translate - and I have Google.
    There is an old castle from the Middle Ages on the hill overlooking El Real. I walked up there for a good view of the surrounding countryside. Except for the types of trees I could be in Australia.
    The sunrises and sunsets have been spectacular and the light has its own special glow.
    Buen Camino.
    Read more