Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Day 9 - Zafra 17.5 km

    September 29, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    The day started with a spectacular sunrise and a brisk walk to the local restaurant for cafe con leche.
    Today we moved from wheat fields to olive trees, grapes, melons - more diverse framing. The walk was relatively flat and easy, and I am feeling stronger and more present.
    However …. Now I have a small blister on one toe. 😂🤣😅
    I had a blessing in a small town just before I got to Zafra. The local church was open - two women were there doing the cleaning etc. I got a stamp on my Credential and was able to sit for a while. The churches have many figures of Jesus, Mary and other saints, which are incredibly ornate, all around the walls. Beautiful.
    There is a fiesta in Zamora over the next few days; in actual fact the annual agricultural fair with all the trimmings we would expect at home. It means the town is full and busy.
    Tomorrow I will walk 4 km only to the next small town and have a rest day to give my feet and body a chance to catch up with itself.
    Read more