Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Day 29 - Salamanca - 20 km

    October 19, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌬 18 °C

    Blessed are the tail winds for they are the pilgrims friend. 🌬🌬🌬
    The walk today was very well supported - some walking companions, a tail wind and a relatively flat landscape.
    This morning I experienced such a heart felt connection to nature as an expression of the Divine.
    Words don’t really describe it - joy, exuberance, love, delight. I feel so blessed to be here at this time in this place. I had a number of moments of tears today as well - something new. Tears of love for the incredible sacredness of a human life. There are so many people on this planet yet every person is sacred - it’s incredible. I think that is why I am drawn to the more simple things - like the man fixing his roof in Morelle yesterday afternoon - rather than the huge edifices that we humans create.
    The wind was a little fierce at times but not too cold and coming from the south was constantly appreciated.
    Instructions for today said - don’t turn left at a certain point even if there is an arrow. However straight ahead was up a pretty steep hill so I forgot the instructions and turned left. That turned out OK for me - there was no hill, a bar soon after and a smooth bike path through this outskirts of Salamanca - and I joined up with the official Camino and few k’s later.
    Old Salamanca is beautiful. It can’t be denied. Two cathedrals and university buildings in the old town and an amazing Plaza Major. Unfortunately there was scaffolding in the Plaza Major for an upcoming event so it was difficult to get the full picture of this impressive square.
    Of course prices increase in tourist areas but I found a Menu del Dia for €15. The food was excellent- a bit more upmarket than the smaller towns but filling and very tasty. The fish dish was especially wonderful. I think I was only supposed to get one glass of wine but I came in with my cap, boots and Camino badge on my bag - and the delightful waitress left half a bottle - which I haven’t finished I’m happy to say - but have enjoyed a couple of glasses. 🥰 🍷
    I arrived in Salamanca at 12.30 pm - left my bag at the Albergue- booked a hair appointment for tomorrow at 6 pm - found a chemist and bought some Voltarin cream, got some cash out of the ATM, checked out sports stores nearby - and am now finishing lunch. Feeling so very happy that grace is with me and everything is unfolding with ease.
    I am still wondering about my rain gear. But that can wait till tomorrow when I have time to go to Decathlon.
    I will have two nights in Salamanca before continuing my Camino. I worked out it will take 30 days to get to Santiago from here. Exactly what I had thought originally.
    I feel I might stumble a little when I leave this small restaurant - I did enjoy the wine. Let’s hope for the best. 😂😅

    Buen Camino
    Read more