Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Day 35 - Montemarte - 20.2 km

    October 25, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    Weather report - cool with a couple of bits of light rain
    Clothes - short sleeved merino, light wind fleece, rain jacket and trekking pants.

    Well - what a difference a day makes. And I think the difference might be a combo of food and more people.
    So let’s back up a little. Last night’s pilgrim dinner was a delight in terms of companionship but maybe not so beneficial in terms of food. We didn’t eat until about 8 or even a bit later- pasta and salad. Now I have to say the pasta was fabulous, but ….
    I didn’t have a very happy day today. In fact this day has been the most distressing so far. And nothing bad really happened.
    I had a 7.15 am start and I got to my destination around 11.45 am. The road was basically flat and the weather was good with only occasional light rain. I was really impressed with my time. I stopped a few times as my foot did give me some pain. There were a couple of guys ahead of me and the young French man, Jerome, from a week ago, behind me.
    Seemingly all good.
    Then … I couldn’t find the albergue - and took another 30 mins, asking for directions, not really understanding them, and walking around in circles. I felt tears threaten. I thought Jerome would already be there, wondering what had happened to me.
    Eventually I tracked down the albergue and as I arrived I saw Jerome coming from the other direction. We had both got lost.
    Then within the next 30 mins another 4 or 5 others arrived, all male, all choosing this stopping point. I felt a bit shocked and quite unnerved. I hadn’t expected so many people. People showered, put on washing, one man went shopping and started cooking lunch, some lay down for a rest. And I didn’t know what to do with myself
    After a while I realised I needed food so I returned to my usual routine: find a bar, eat and have a glass of wine. As I walked to town over the bridge I just wanted to cry - and I did - a bit.
    I have really enjoyed my solo Camino experience. Now that there are more people around I notice I get side tracked by others. I forget my own needs and lose concentration on my own agenda.
    Last night I left one of my good pairs of socks behind. Aagghh. So now in the last few days it’s the tiny towel, scarf and socks all left behind.
    Maybe I am getting tired? Walking a Camino actually takes a lot of focus and concentration - working out where to stop next, checking on the weather, where to get food, how much food to carry, organising your stuff.
    I think now my practice needs to be - stay focused on me, on what I need and what I am doing, not on those around me.
    I am wondering if things will get busier, with more people. I hope not. I might become the anti social pilgrim.
    Anyway I have just finished lunch. I don’t really want to go back to the albergue so I will finish this blog, and then go back and stick my nose in my online book.
    And see what tomorrow brings.

    Buen Camino

    Evening update
    I didn’t have my giant Menu del Dia lunch today - they didn’t offer it at the cafe -so I only had one course. Then later in the afternoon I got really cold and angry and sad.
    I went to the shop but it was closed for siesta. Grrrrr. So I went later. For dinner I made pasta with tomato and tuna and had two delicious Spanish pears and some yogurt. I ate around 7 pm and now I am warm and feel pretty fine - relaxed and ready to wind down.
    It would seem that what I eat and when I eat is critical to my success. I can’t afford to let myself run on empty- particularly in a cold albergue with no heating.
    The other guys are just eating now at 8,00 pm - definitely too late for me.
    The other thing I noticed is that one of the guys seemed really loud, often on the phone and speaking in a loud voice to others. I think that was one of the things that got to me earlier.
    However all’s well that ends well.
    This was a psychologically difficult day.
    I think tomorrow will be better.

    PS.
    The weather forecast says it’s getting warmer.
    11 - 22 tomorrow with no wind warnings. 👏👏🥰🥰😀😀
    Read more