Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Day 56 - Silleda - 9 km

    November 15, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 11 °C

    Weather: 9 - 13 degrees; with 70% rain predicted all day
    Clothes: The same but traded short sleeves for long sleeve merino top. Feeling a bit cold and tired today. Changed into short sleeve top as it got warm during the morning.

    The morning
    The night was a bit disrupted with the sound of torrential rain and banging barn doors - and it was still raining when I woke. Oops not good - I was very happy I was only walking 9.5 km today. Then I looked up the weather forecast and it said no rain between 8.30 am and 1.00 pm. Just the window I need. Gratitude abounds 🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏
    When I got up I noticed that the body was tired and feet a bit sore - just from so many k’s - no blisters or other issues.
    There are three Spanish men here today (and yesterday) with voices that seem to echo and project even when they are talking normally. They were chatting in the kitchen last night and woke me just before 10 pm. It took a long time to get back to sleep so with two nights of short sleep I am also sleepy tired.
    So again happy I am doing a short day today. 💜😀

    The day of bridges
    Apart from the continuing beauty of Galicia this has been a day of bridges - a magnificent new road bridge, an older but still magnificent rail bridge and Ponte Taboada over the river La Deza.
    The Ponte Taboada was a part of the old Roman route north. It has been, and still is part of the pilgrimage route to Santiago. It was rebuilt in the 10th century and has had subsequent renovations.
    The old road and the bridge itself were a delight.
    The sun came out completely as I crossed over the bridge and the sky became blue. Blessings abound.
    I got to Silleda around 11.30 am, had a hot chocolate and went to Albergue Santa Olaia. It’s part of a school and I can hear the kids at play and in class. I have a twin room to myself so I will be able to rest up as much as I want. I think I was the only one in the albergue. It was a bit cold and vast but I had a heater in my room, plenty of blankets and hot showers. What more could I want.
    I’ve been in Spain for so long now that things are beginning to look and feel normal - just in a different language. I will probably have a bit of culture shock when I get home.
    It’s only 40 km to Santiago.

    Burn Camino
    Read more