Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Haines, AK

    May 24, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    Coffee and porridge to start the day. The German RVers were up early as well but I managed to get to the shower with no waiting.

    We drove along Highway 7 using the Milepost to know what to see but the eagles have left and no bears 🐻. We turned a porcupine pass and suddenly there was a moose 🫎 right in the road. I stopped the car and we watched. She moved along and got into the lake. I pulled up and Simon leapt out with his camera. The moose swam across the lake and climbed out on the other side.

    We continued the drive back to town but no more wildlife encounters. We stopped at a pull in just outside town for a sandwich before heading to the campground to do some device charging.

    After unsuccessfully trying to sort out some hotel chaos in Anchorage, we drove out of the campground. I drove through a stop sign 🛑 that I didn’t see until too late. The police car coming down the hill did see. Flashing lights. I pulled over, hands on steering wheel. A short exchange later and showed him my license and he let me go. 😅😇. Thank goodness for a New Zealand license I think.

    We had a drive around and went back to the lake for a while. The weather started to change so not sure what we will do.

    We spent the evening in the shared room, looking at the scenery and cooking dinner.
    Read more