Satellite
Show on map
  • Journey and Arrival

    January 8, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    A journey to Maui from Germany takes time - especially in my case. Because I wanted to travel on a budget, I only paid 550€ for a round flight - the normal price you gotta pay starts at around 800€. But if you book cheap flights, be aware that the journey may take longer and you will have more stops.

    That was my journey:
    - bus from Munich to Frankfurt Airport FRA (stop for 6 hours)
    - flight from Frankfurt to Dallas DFW (2 hours stop)
    - flight from DFW to Los Angeles LAX (stopover the whole night)
    - flight from LAX to Kahului OGG

    I started at the bus station in Munich on January 8, about 11 p.m. EST and arrived at Kahului Airport on January 11, 12 a.m. EST. So the way to Maui took me nearly 50 hours.

    It was hard, it was my first long-distance flight ever, but I made it, and it could have been worse. I had an interesting night at an UCLA sorority house and I was even happier to arrive at the hostel on January 11.
    Read more