Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures

    December 24, 2019 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Today I got up pretty early, 6.30 don’t feel right but I have plans for today so I need to get going on time!
    I had anyway a good breakfast and then I left the campground shortly after 8 am.
    I went to Marahau to walk the first part of the Abel Tasman Coastal Walk from Marahau to Anchorage! 💪🏼
    I liked the other parts so much, so I also wanted to do the first part as well!
    And for the way home I booked a sailing trip because it is Christmas and it is much nicer to sail bcc then just take the water taxi.
    They recommended starting the walk at 8.30 am to have enough time to come to Anchorage where the boat will leave at 1.30 pm.
    I started my walk at 8.50 am and arrived in Anchorage at 12.15 pm and I walk almost all of the side tracks to some beaches and lookouts as well.

    It was quite cloudy in the morning what was a little sad because I can imagine the view is much nicer when the weather is really good. Anyway, it was a really nice and very easy walk! Just a little bit uphill and never steep or anything so it was going very easy 😊

    I then had a lunch break at the beach, watching all the boats coming and going.
    We left Anchorage on time. We are only 10 grownups and 2 small kids plus our skipper. So a really nice small group and we had a lot of space on the boat to move around 😊
    The weather was really nice now, almost no clouds left but pretty windy, what is good in one way, as we need the wind to sail back to Kaiteriteri, but also a little bit annoying because the wind is quite cold. Luckily I had my jacket with me!

    I was really hoping to see some Orcas but we had no luck with that. I away I knew it already before 😉

    I really enjoyed the tour, it took us 3 hours to sail to Kaiteriteri and we were chasing some Kayakers around here and there 😂
    Our skipper loves to play cat and mouse with them 😉😂

    We arrived at 4.30 pm in Kaiteriteri and got a ride back to our cars in Marahau.
    So I arrived at the campground in Motueka around 5.30 pm, tired but happy!

    Merry Christmas everyone!
    Read more