Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Peak Hill

    December 29, 2019 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    I was deciding against a trip into Christchurch as I was not extremely impressed last time and was just stopping for a quick shopping trip at the Warehouse for a new pot, my one was not happy about the small gas cooker we used during the Abel Tasman walk and now starts to get totally broken.

    My plan for today is to to the Peak Hill Walk, which is closed to Mount Hutt.
    The way there was already really stunning. So hard to look and drive at the same time 🙈😬

    As I can closer I started to realize, that Peak Hill is may be called a hill, but for me, he is more a mountain 😳
    And I thought this one gonna be a little bit a challenge but not too tough 🙈😂
    I couldn’t be more wrong 🤣😅

    This one was a hell of a climb! The first part was over a paddock and going pretty good but after the path was small and it was going so steep up the hill, that I was a few times closed to give up!
    The strong wind didn’t make it so much better but was still ok to handle as I got quite mich shelter from the hill.
    As I reached the Stopp the shelter was gone and I realized how strong the wind has become during my climb up the hill 😳
    I tried to reach the top at 1240m over sea level but I had to give up and a few hundred meters before the top as the wind was so strong and I am walking the last part on the edge of the hill and it’s so exposed up there, that I didn’t want to risk it anymore.
    The way back down the hill was as much challenging as the way up. And I was back in my car after 2 1/2 hours, totally exhausted but very satisfied at the same time.

    I then went to Rakaia Gorge where I will spend the night. The wind is horrible here as well, so I don’t think I will get a good sleep tonight. 😳
    At least it’s cheap 😉😂

    For tomorrow I have booked a Rafting trip! Finally, it’s time for some real action! I was really lucky, I booked it over a web page with a really good discount and saved 70$ like this! 🥳
    And then it’s the rafting trip, that I was planning to do last time I was here but got cancelled because of the bad weather conditions!
    Read more